Finally, new media arrives in Pakistan

Kazim Alam

Do you know the Get-Osama operation was live-tweeted?

The man is a software consultant. He left the big-city life of Lahore for a peaceful and semi-urban life of Abbottabad.

He obviously didn’t know the operation was being carried out by the American forces.

He constantly tweeted about the U.S. Navy SEALs raid in an otherwise uneventful city of Abbottabad.

There are reports that even the Pakistan government didn’t know about the operation.

But the man tweeted about the mayhem, as the mainstream media put it, “unwittingly.”

Now he’s a celebrity.

He’s appeared on international and national mainstream media. He said he got many, many interview calls.

His Twitter following grew from negligible to 84,000 (and counting) in a short time!

He’s a funny guy. Here’re a few tweets:

“Go away helicopter – before I take out my giant swatter :-/”

“A huge window shaking bang here in Abbottabad Cantt. I hope its not the start of something nasty :-S”

“The abbottabad helicopter/UFO was shot down near the Bilal Town area, and there’s report of a flash. People saying it could be a drone.”

“I guess I should unsubscribe from the #abbottabad search on twitter before it kills my machine. Leave Abbottabad alone, Osama and Obama…”

“I apologize for reporting the operation ‘unwittingly/unknowingly’ – had I known about it, I would have tweeted about it ‘wittingly’ I swear.”

“Fact: I don’t own a TV set and stopped watching TV many years ago. Sorry three-lettered-big-tv-news-channels for not replying to your emails”

“Bin Laden is dead. I didn’t kill him. Please let me sleep now.”

“Reuters got to me before I could go to sleep.”

“I’m sorry to all the MSM journalists trying to reach me via phone/email etc. for not being able to reply to their queries individually.”

“Thank you Google, thousands of email reduced to a few dozen.”

“Interesting, I didn’t think my name would trend on twtter before releasing a couple of rock albums and a few award-winning software….”

His Twitter ID is @ReallyVirtual — follow him.

Leave a Reply

